Tigers’ T20 squad announced for New Zealand series

Online Desk | Update:

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Saturday announced a 15-men squad for the 1st T20 International of a three-match away series against New Zealand starting at McLean Park, Napier on 3 January 2017, reports UNB.

After around 28 months break, pace bowler Rubel Hossain got a recall to play in the 1st T20I. He last played for the national side in this format against West Indies at Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts in August 2014.

Shubashis Roy will make his T20I debut in the first match, making his international debut in the 2nd ODI in a three-match series against New Zealand on 29 December.

Mosaddek Hossain will go for the 2nd match after making his debut in a T20I against Zimbabwe at Khulna in January 2016.

Masrafe Bin Mortaza-led Bangladesh last played in the shortest format of cricket in March 2015 in the ICC World Twenty20 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata, India where they lost against New Zealand by 75 runs.

Bangladesh played four T20Is against New Zealand since 2010, but lost in all four games.

The 2nd and 3rd T20Is will be held on 6 and 8 January 2017, both at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui.

Bangladesh T20I squad: Masrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarker, Sabbir Rahaman, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shuvagata Hom, Subashis Roy, Taijul Islam and Nurul Hasan.

Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
CA Bhaban, 100 Kazi Nazrul Islam avenue, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: info@prothom-alo.info