She went to the examination centre with her younger son Faiyaz who is participating in the HSC examination, and returned home at around 11:30pm. Half an hour later, her husband Barkat Ullah called her and let her know the verdict.

A Dhaka court on Wednesday awarded death sentence to 20 while five others were handed life time imprisonment in the murder case of Abrar Fahad, a student of Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET).

The court of judge Abu Zafar Md Kamaruzzaman of Dhaka Speedy Trial Tribunal-1 pronounced the verdict. While pronouncing the verdict, the judge said the accused were awarded capital punishment to stop repetition of brutal murder.

In 2019, Abrar Fahad, 21, a second-year student of electrical and electronic engineering department of BUET, was beaten to death by Bangladesh Chhatra League leaders at Sher-e-Bangla Hall of the university.

He was found dead on the staircase of the hall in the early hours of 7 October after he was taken to room No-2011 of the dormitory around 8:00pm on 6 October and beaten mercilessly.

On 7 October, Abrar’s father Barkat Ullah filed a murder case with the Chawkbazar police station in the capital.

On 13 November, 2019, Detective Branch (DB) inspector and investigation officer of the case, Wahiduzzaman, submitted the charge sheet against 25. Later, on 15 September, 2020, the court framed charges against the accused.

Among the accused 22 were brought at the court while three are on the run.

Those who were sentenced to death are – Mehedi Hasan Rasel, Md Anik Sarker, Mehedi Hasan Robin, Ifti Mosharraf Sakal, Md Moniruzzaman Monir, Md Meftahul Islam Zion, Md Mazedur Rahman Mazed, Md Mujahidur Rahman, Khandaker Tabakkarul Islam Tanvir, Hossain Mohammad Toha, Md Shamim Billah, ASM Najmus Sadat, Morshed Amartya Islam, Muntasir Al Jemi, Md Shamsul Arefin Rafat, Md Mizanur Rahman, Morshed-uj-Jaman Mandal Jishan, Mujtaba Rafid and Ehteshamul Rabbi Tanim and SM Mahmud Setu.

Among them, Morshed-uj-Jaman Mandal Jishan, Mujtaba Rafid and Ehteshamul Rabbi Tanim remained absconding.

And, those who were sentenced to life time imprisonment are -- Muhtasim Fuad Hossain, Md Akash Hossain, Muaz Abu Huraira, Amit Saha and Ishtiaque Ahmed Munna.

Read more from Crime
Post Comment