Fourteen chairman candidates have won uncontested in Barisal for the upcoming union parishad (UP) election.

Barisal District Election Office confirmed this on Wednesday night.

The first round of elections will be held on 11 April in 50 unions of Barisal district. Among them, the chairman candidates of 14 unions have already won uncontested. All of them are Awami League candidates.

Read more from Local News