By-polls to Brahmanbaria-1, Gaibandha-1 Tuesday

Prothom Alo English Desk | Update:

.The by-election to two constituencies - Brahmanbaria-1 (Nasirnagar) and Gaibandha-1 (Sundarganj) - will be held on Tuesday.

The voting will begin at 8:00am and will continue till 4:00pm, reports BSS.

Brahmanbaria-1 seat fell vacant due to death of its lawmaker Awami League (AL) leader and fisheries and livestock minister Sayedul Hoque.

Three candidates - AL nominated candidate Farhad Hossain Sangram, Jatiya Party (Manju) contender Rezwan Ahmed and Islami Oikya Jote contestant Abul Qasem are vying for becoming parliament member from the constituency.

A total of 214,009 people are eligible to cast their votes.

Gaibandha-1 constituency fell vacant as its lawmaker AL leader Golam Mostafa Ahmed passed away on 19 December 2017.

Four candidates - AL nominated candidate Afruja Bari, sister of lawmaker Manjurul Islam Liton, Jatiya Party (Ershad) contestant Barrister Shamim Haider Patwary, National People’s Party (NPP) contender Zia Jaman and Gono Front candidate Md Shariful Islam - are contesting in the polls.

As many as 338,000 people are eligible to cast their votes in the constituency.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: