Voting in 4th phase upazila polls begins, 88 elected unopposed

Prothom Alo English Desk | Update:

PollVoting in the fourth phase of upazila election began in 107 upazilas on Sunday, reports UNB.

Balloting started at 8:00am in the fourth phase of the local body elections and will continue until 4:00pm without any break.

More than 25.5 million voters are expected to cast votes.

In this phase, 351 chairman, 533 vice-chairman and 406 woman vice-chairman candidates are contesting. But 39 chairman, 22 vice-chairman and 27 woman vice-chairman contestants have already been elected unopposed.

The election commission announced polls schedule for 122 upazilas but all candidates in a number of upazilas have already been elected uncontested. These upazilas do not require balloting. Polls to some other upazilas were postponed on various grounds.

This time, electronic voting machines will be used in Cox's Bazar Sadar, Patuakhali Sadar, Mymensingh Sadar, Bagerhat Sadar, Munshiganj Sadar and Feni Sadar.

A security team comprising of 14-16 members drawn from police, Ansar and VDP will guard each polling station.

The first three phases of the upazila elections were held on 10, 18 and 24 March.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: