Polls to 16 upazilas 18 June

Prothom Alo English Desk | Update:

Elections to 16 upazila parishads will be held on 18 June in the fifth and final phase of the countrywide upazila election, reports UNB.

The election commission on Thursday published gazette declaring the election schedule.

The deadline for submission of nomination paper is 21 May while the date for scrutinising nomination papers is 23 May and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is 30 May.

The polls will be held against three posts -- chairman, vice-chairman and female vice-chairman -- in each upazila.

The 16 upazilas are Nakla in Sherpur district, Naldanga in Natore, Kamarkhand in Sirajganj, Sundarganj in Gaibandha, Rangabali in Patuakhali, Taltali in Barguna, Gazipur Sadar, Narayanganj Sadar, Madaripur Sadar, Kalukhali in Rajbari, Shayestaganj in Habiganj, Bancharampur and Bijoynagar in Brahmanbaria, Cumilla Adarsha Sadar, Cumilla Sadar Dakkhin and Noakhali Sadar.

The polls to some 450 upazila parishads were held in the first four phases in March last.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: info@prothomalo.com