Major reshuffle in DMP

Prothom Alo English Desk | Update:

Logo of DMPIn a major reshuffle, Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) announced new postings of 18 police inspectors, including officer-in-charge (OCs) of eight police stations, on Monday, reports UNB. 

According to the office order of the DMP, signed by its commissioner Md Shafiqul Islam, the OC of Dhanmondi police station Abdul Latif has been transferred to Mohammadpur police station as its new OC, while Inspector Md Humayun Kabir of counter terrorism division has been given charge of Dhanmondi police station as its OC. 

In a straightforward swap, Airport police station OC Mohammad Noor e Azam Miah has been posted as the new OC of Banani police station, with Banani police station OC BM Forman Ali moving in the opposite direction to take charge of Airport police station as its OC.

A number of Inspectors (Investigation) attached with different police stations have been transferred and put in charge of new stations. Inspectors (Investigation) of Gulshan police station SM Kaiyum has been transferred to New Market police station as its new OC; Inspector (investigation) of Kadamtoli police station Tofael Ahmed takes over as OC of Darus Salam police station; Inspector (Investigation) of Kotwali police station Mowdud Hawlader will be the new OC of Chawkbazar police station, and Inspector (Investigation) of Tejgaon Police Station Md Parvez Islam has been transferred as the new OC of Badda police station.

As for the OCs being replaced, OC of New Market police station Mohammad Atiqur Rahman has been transferred to Detective Branch of police (DMP west), OC of Mohammadpur police station Ganash Gopal Bishwas has been attached to the prosecution division, OC of Darussalam M Aslam Uddin has been transferred to DMP headquarters (Operation department), the Chawkbazar OC Sohrab Hossain has been transferred to the counter terrorism department, and the OC of Badda police station M Rafiqul Islam has been attached to the organised and transnational crime department.

Additionally, Inspector (operation) of Mohammadpur police station Md Shariful Islam has been transferred to the logistics department, and Inspector (Investigation) of Dakkhin Khan police station Md Shafiqul Gani Shabo has been posted to the Operations division at DMP headquarters.

Taking their places are Inspector Shah Alam of Line O R, who has been transferred to Mohammadpur police station as its Inspector (Operation), and Inspector (investigations) Shamsul Alam of Line O R has been transferred to crime division of DMP headquarters.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: