Barisal-5 by-polls

AL picks Hiron's wife Zebunnesa

Staff Correspondent | Update:


The ruling Awami League on Thursday nominated Zebunnesa Afroz, wife of late lawmaker Shawkat Hossain Hiron, as its candidate to contest the by-election to Barisal-5 constituency, which is slated for 12 June.

The nomination was finalised at a meeting of the Awami League Parliamentary Board (ALPB) held at Ganabhaban, the official residence of the prime minister, on Thursday afternoon with ALPB chief and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

Briefing reporters after the meeting, AL general secretary Syed Ashraful Islam said that the 10-member ALPB unanimously picked up Zebunnesa Afroz as the party nominee for the by-election to Barisal-5 constituency.

He said that the ALPB took the decision giving due consideration to the opinions of the people, the local leaders and workers of the party.

“We hope that everybody including the allies of the Grand Alliance and pro-liberation forces would welcome the decision and play a pro-active role in making the AL candidate victorious,” Ashraf said.


ALPB members Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Amir Hossain Amu, Suranjit Sengupta and Obaidul Quader were, among others, present.

The by-election to Barisal-5 constituency that fell vacant following the death of Awami League lawmaker Shawkat Hossain Hiron will be held on 12 June, according to a decision of the Election Commission (EC).

Chief election commissioner Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad announced the by-election schedule at a press conference at the EC media centre on 28 April.

According to the schedule, the deadline for the submission of nomination paper is 11 May, while the date of scrutiny of the nomination papers is 14 May. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is 11 May.

The constituency has a total of 342,228 voters and they will be able to exercise their franchise through 159 possible polling stations for the by-polls.

As per the article 123 (4) of the Constitution, the Commission has a legal obligation to hold the by-election by 7 July this year, the CEC said.

EC’s Barisal regional officer was appointed the returning officer for the by-election, while district election officials of Barisal and Bhola as assistant returning officers.

The constituency comprises of Barisal City Corporation (30 wards) and Barisal Sadar Upazila (nine union councils).

Hiron, former mayor of Barisal City Corporation and ex-president of Barisal City Awami League, died in the capital’s Apollo Hospitals on 9 April following brain haemorrhage.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: