The electioneering ended at 12 midnight Friday.

The election commission has instructed outsiders to leave the city areas.

Motorcycle plying has been banned in the area since Friday night.

Fourteen judicial magistrates have been appointed to conduct election peacefully. Under the Penal Code, they will be able to carry out brief trials with filing case.

Somen 517, 362 voters will exercise their voting rights at 1,333 polling booths in 192 centres of 26 wards.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has allowed 42 observers from nine organizations to monitor the election.

The organizations are: National Election Observation Council (JANIPP), SAARC Human Rights Foundation, Legal Aid Center, Foundation, Social Development Efforts, Trinamool Development Organization, Taltala Youth Development Organization, Rehaf Foundation, BB Asia Foundation and Human Rights and Social Development Organization-MOSUS.

Adequate security measures have also been taken on the election.

More than 5,000 members of the law enforcement agencies will be deployed to ensure security while each centre will have 28 security personnel.

Returning officer Mahfuza Akter said no centre was identified as risky as all the centres are being taken into special consideration.

One sub-inspector (SI) will lead the five policemen’s team in each centre. In addition, eight male and four female Ansar members will also be deployed to ensure security.

A total of 26 police units will be on duty as striking force during the elections.

Apart from this, there will be 64 mobile teams of the police, as each team will have five members. Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) will deploy its 24 platoon troops.

The returning officer said that Narayanganj deputy commissioner has sent demand note for more 6 platoons.

Read more from Politics
Post Comment