Seven named for ‘Shilpakala Padak 2017’

UNB . Dhaka | Update:

Seven awardees of Shilpakala Padak 2017. Photo: UNBSeven creative personalities from different arenas will receive ‘Shilpakala Padak 2017’ for their contributions to the respective fields.

The awardees are Alauddin Mia in instrumental music, Sharmila Bandopadhyay in dance, Nasir Ali Mamun in photography, Chandra Shekhar Dey in fine arts, Kangalini Sufia Begum in folk culture, SM Mohsin in dramatics and Mihir Lala in music.

President Abdul Hamid will hand over the award to the recipients at a function at Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy on Monday.

The awardees each will get a cheque of Tk 100,000, a certificate and a crest.

Cultural affairs minister Asaduzzaman Noor will be present as the special guest while cultural affairs secretary-in-charge Md Nasir Uddin Ahmed will preside over the function.

Shilpakala Academy director general Liaquat Ali Lucky will deliver the welcome speech.

A 16-member nomination committee, comprising BSA director general, secretary, six directors, seven cultural personalities and one representative from cultural affairs ministry selected this year’s awardees.

The award is conferred for outstanding contribution to 12 sectors-music, instrumental music, dance, dramatics, fine arts, recitation, photography, jatrashilpa, film, creative organiser, cultural researcher and folklore.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: