Loko Natyadal honours three personalities

Prothom Alo English Desk | Update:

Loko Natyadal honours three personalities. Photo: UNBThree personalities—playwright Kalyan Mitra, professor Abdus Salim and actor Tariq Anam Khan were awarded with Loko Natyadal Gold Medal of 2019 in recognition of their outstanding contribution to drama.

State minister for cultural affairs K M Khaled distributed the award to the winners on Saturday on the occasion of 38th founding anniversary of Loko Natyadal.

The minister emphasised in his speech more variety and diversity in stage performances for the development of the stage drama.

Professor Abdus Salim and Tariq Anam Khan also addressed greetings from the awardees.

Liaquat Ali Lucky, director General of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy presided over the function while educationist Syed Manzoorul Islam was the guest of honor.

Popular theatre troupe Loko Natyadal organised the two-day commemorative programme at Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy to mark their founding anniversary.

The celebration started with their much-acclaimed production Sonai Madhab yesterday at the Experimental Theatre Hall of BSA which was directed by Liaquat Ali Lucky.

The troupe has produced 29 plays so far including 20 plays, eight street plays and one musical.

The award was introduced since 1991 for the purpose of paying tribute to honest, devoted and intelligent playwrights.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: info@prothomalo.com