Names of Shilpakala Padak-2018 recipients announced

Prothom Alo English Desk | Update:

Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy director Liaquat Ali Lucky announces the names of Shilpakala Padak-2018 recipients at a press conference in Dhaka on Tuesday. Photo: UNBThe names of seven personalities, who will receive 'Shilpakala Padak-2018' for their contributions to their respective fields, were announced on Tuesday, reports news agency UNB.

They are -- Gouro Gopal Haldar (vocal), Sunil Chandra Das (instrumental), M Hamid (dramatics), Mina Barua (folklore), Alokesh Ghosh (fine arts), Shukla Sarkar (dance) and Jayanta Chattopadhyay (recitation).

Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy (BSA) director Liaquat Ali Lucky announced the names at a press conference.

President Abdul Hamid will hand over the award at a function on 18 July at BSA's National Drama Theatre Auditorium.

Additional secretary of cultural affairs ministry Abu Hena Mostofa Kamal will chair the event, while the state minister for cultural affairs KM Khalid will be present as special guest. Liaquat Ali Lucky will deliver welcoming speech at the event.

Each of the awardees will get a gold medal, a cheque for Tk 100,000 and a certificate.

BSA has been awarding this prestigious prize to seven prominent literary personalities every year since 2013. A 16-member committee selects the recipients.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: