Bangladesh national cricket team went to India on Wednesday afternoon to play a three-match T20 series and a two-match Test series against the hosts.

Right before flying to India, Bangladesh lost the service of Shakib Al Hasan, who was handed a two-year ban by cricket’s governing body.

However, stand-in captain Mahmudullah Riyad said they are hopeful to perform well as a team in the series.

“Everyone knows what we have lost. He (Shakib) is our best performer. He did well in the World Cup. He made a mistake, not a crime,” Mahmudullah told the media at Dhaka airport.

“I must try to perform the duties that the board has bestowed upon me. We will try to play a better brand of cricket during the series. India are a better side. So, we have to take chances in order to bring the results in our favour,” he added.

The T20 series opener will take place in Delhi on 3 November while the remaining matches will be hosted by Rajkot and Nagpur respectively on 7 and 11 November.

Right after the T20 series, both teams will lock horns in Tests. While the first Test will be held in Indore from 14 November, the second one will take place in Kolkata from 22 November, which will be a day-night affair. Neither Bangladesh nor India have played a day-night Test before.

Bangladesh T20 squad for India series: Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam Biplob, Arafat Sunny, Abu Hider Rony, Al Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman and Shafiul Islam