NCL: Khulna maintain top slot in Tier-1 after 5th round

UNB . Dhaka | Update:

National Cricket League. Photo: UNBKhulna Division maintained the top slot in Tier-1 of the National Cricket League (NCL) with 29.96 points after making a draw with Rajshahi Division in the 5th round match at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Tuesday.

Sylhet Division topped the Tier-2 list of the league securing 26.55 points from five matches.

Rajshahi Division vs Khulna Division:

The Tier-1 match between Khulna and Rajshahi Division ended in a draw on the 4th and final day at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Tuesday.

Resuming the first innings with overnight total of 154 for 4, Khulna posted 201 for all in 73.1 overs. Amit Majumder and Tushar Imran hit 59 and 58 runs respectively while the other batsmen failed to deliver big scores.

All-rounder of Rajshahi Division Farhad Reza, bagged six wickets for 48 runs in 20.1 overs while Mohor Sheikh and Muktar Ali took two wickets each.

In reply, Rajshahi posted 197 runs for 7 in 61 overs before both the captains agreed to call off the match with one hour to play. Avishek Mitra hit 51 while Muktar posted 39.

Veteran spinner Abdur Razzak bagged four wickets conceding 69 runs in 26 overs while Abdul Halim took two.

Brief score: Rajshahi first innings 151/10 in 50.4 overs, Sunzamul 49, Mizanur 48, Rubel 7/51, Abdur Razzak 2/60
Khulna first innings 201/10 in 73.1 overs, Amit 59, Tushar 58, Farhad 6/48, Mohor 2/40
Rajshahi second innings 197/7 in 61 overs, Avishek 51, Muktar 39, Abdur Razzak 4/69, Abdul Halim 2/36

Rangpur Division vs Dhaka Division:

The other Tier-1 match between Rangpur Division and Dhaka Division also ended in a draw at Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogura on the 4th and final day on Tuesday.

Resuming their overnight total of 200/5 in 81 overs, Rangpur declared their 2nd innings scoring 271 for 9 in 99 overs. Nasir Hossain, who was on batting with 104, posted 161 runs.

Shahadat Hossain, Salahuddin Shakil, Arafat Sunny and Taibur Rahman took two wickets for Dhaka Division.

In reply, Dhaka posted 176 for 4 before the umpires pull off the stumps on the final day.

Raqibul Hasan, who made fifty in the first innings for Dhaka, remained unbeaten on 80 runs in the second innings.

Mukidul Islam, Alauddin Babu, Rishad Hossain and Nasir Hossain took one wicket each.

Brief score: Rangpur first innings 234/10 in 81.3 overs, Nasir 70, Sohrawordi 57, Tanbir 47, Nazmul 5/65, Shakil 3/56.

Dhaka Division first innings 222/10 in 64.1 overs, Abdul Mazid 52, Raqibul 67, Mukidul 5/37, Alauddin 2/44

Rangpur second innings 271/9 in 99 overs, Nasir 161, Naeem 32, Shahadat 2/24, Sunny 2/36

Dhaka Division second innings 176/4 in 63 overs, Raqibul 80*, Sunny 36, Nasir 1/10, Alauddin 1/20
Dhaka Metro vs Sylhet Division:

The Tier-2 match between Dhaka Metro and Sylhet Division also ended in a draw in Rajshahi.

Resuming on overnight 254/4, Dhaka Metro declared the 2nd innings at 395 for 6 in in 101 overs. Marshall Ayub, who was on batting with 73 runs finally made a century hitting 163.

Enamul Haque Jnr and Alok Kapali took two wickets each.

In reply, Sylhet scored 187 for 4 in 49 overs when the bails were drawn for the final day.

Shanaj Ahmed and Towfiq Khan posted 61 and 75 runs respectively.

Taskin Ahmed bagged three wickets for 24 runs.

Brief score: Dhaka Metro first innings 311/8 (declared) in 83.5 overs, Shamsur 114, Al Amin 69, Rakin 48, Rejaur 5/60, Enamul 85/3.

Sylhet first innings 351/10 in 101.3 overs, Amite 125, Asadullah 59, Alok 32, Rahatul 39, Shahidul 3/63, Sharifullah 3/86.

Dhaka Metro second innings 395/6 (declared) in 101 overs, Marshall 163, Azmir 80, Alok 2/59, Enamul Haque Jnr 2/114

Sylhet second innings 187/4 in 49 overs, Towfiq 75, Shanaj 61, Taskin 3/24

Barishal Division vs Chattogram Division:

The other Tier-2 match between Barishal and Chattogram Division, which lost first three days due to rain, also ended in a draw at Abdur Rab Serniabad Stadium in Barisal.

Barishal won the toss and opted to bat first on day-4 and declared the innings for 70 runs for 3 in 13 overs with Shohag Gazi scoring 44 runs off 30 ball, featuring three fours and four sixes.

Ifran Hossain took two wickets conceding 13 runs.

In reply, Chattogram posted 45 without any loss in six overs before the umpires pulled off the bails for the final day.

Brief score: Barishal 70/3 in 13 overs, Shohag 44, Abu Sayeem 21*, Ifran 2/13
Chattogram 45/0 in six overs, Sadikur 14, Pinak 30*.

Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: