IUTA gets new body


The Islamic University Teachers’ Association (IUTA) got a new committee through election on Sunday, reports UNB.

Professor Kazi Akhtar Hossain of accounting and information system department and professor M Mostafizur Rahman of Al-Hadith and Islamic Studies department were elected as president and general secretary respectively, says the news agency.

IUTA chief election commissioner professor M Sarwar Murshed announced the results around 9:00pm. A total of 346 teachers out of 396 cast their votes, professor Murshed told UNB.

Professor M Maher Ali was elected vice-president, professor M Mizanur Rahman joint-secretary and professor Shelina Nasrin treasurer.

The other members are professor Nurun Nahar, Rashiduzzaman, ATM Mizanur Rahman, Saidur Rahman, SM Mustafa Kamal, Paresh Chandra Baraman, Rezuanul Islam, Atiqur Rahman and Anisur Rahman, Abdullah Al-Masud.

The university authorities, IUJA and different teacher and student organisations congratulated the newly elected body of IUTA.