5 DU students get Nujhat Jahangir Memorial scholarship

Prothom Alo English Desk | Update:

Logo Of Dhaka UniversityFive students of different departments under the Faculty of Social Science of Dhaka University (DU) on Thursday were awarded ‘Nujhat Jahangir Memorial Scholarship’ for their outstanding academic excellence.

The award recepients are - Mahir A Rahman and Tahia Anan Dhira of economics department, Eshra Faruky of sociology department and Nushrat Jahan and Ummey Fariha of anthropology, reports BSS.

They have secured the highest Cumulative Grade Points Average (CGPA) in Bachelor of Social Science (BSS) examinations held in 2016.

DU vice-chancellor professor Md Akhtaruzzaman distributed the scholarships among the students as the chief guest at a programme held at Nabab Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban of the university.

Professor Akhtaruzzaman congratulated the awardees and thanked the donor of the trust fund.

He urged the students to equip themselves with the humanitarian values to make Bangladesh a peaceful country.

Economics department chairperson professor Md Shafiq uz Zaman presided over the function while professor Muntassir Uddin Khan Mamoon delivered the welcome speech.

Chairman of sociology department professor Nehal Karim and trustee board member professor Nadim Jahangir also addressed at the programme.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: info@prothom-alo.info