Traffic advisory for Pahela Baishakh


The Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) on Thursday issued a traffic advisory ahead of the Pahela Baishakh, the first day of the Bangla new year.

According to the traffic advisory of DMP on 14 April, people should use 26 diverted points for traffic movement centring the Ramna Park and Suhrawardy Udyan.

The routes are: Sonargaon Crossing, Bangla Motor Crossing, Paribag Gap, Naval Chief Goli, Sakurar Goli, Police Bhaban Crossing, Sabji Bagan Crossing, Mintoo Road (Eastside) Officers Club Crossing, Sugandha Crossing, Kakrail Church Crossing, Shilpakala Academi Goli, ACC Goli, Carpet Goli, Matshya Bhaban Crossing, UBL Crossing, Zero Pint Crossing, High Court Crossing, Ramna Chattar Crossing, Bakshibazar Crossing, Palashi Crossing, Nilkhet Crossing, Kantaban Crossing, Aziz Super Market Crossing, Civil Administration Academy Goli and Shahbagh Crossing.

People can park their vehicles in front of Holy Family Hospital (coming from North), Old Elephant Road (vehicles coming from North), Abdul Gani Road (vehicles coming from East-South), Curzon Hall-Bangabazar-Fulbaria (vehicles coming from South), Matshya Bhaban to Carpet Goli (vehicles of law enforcers), Shilpakala Academy Goli (vehicles of law enforcers), Sugandha to Officers Club (vehicles of VIPs and media), Kantaban-Nilkhet-Palashi (vehicles coming from South-West).

The areas where traffic movement will be prohibited on Pahela Baishakh include: Bangla Motor-Ruposhi Bangla-Shahbagh-TSC-Doel Chattar; Ruposhi Bangla-Kakrail-Matshya Bhaban-Kodom Foara; Matshya Bhaban-Shahbagh-Kantaban; Polashi-Shaheed Minar-Doel Chattar-High Court Crossing; Bakshibazar-Shaheed Minar-TSC; Shahidullah Hall Crossing-Doel Chattar and Nilkhet-TSC areas.

DMP has requested all to use the alternative roads.

The roads are: Mirpur Road-Science Laboratory-New Market-Azimpur-Bakshibazar-Chankharpool- Gulisthan; Russell Square-Sonargaon-Rainbow-Moghbazar-Malibagh; Rajmoni-UBl- Gulishtan; -Satrasta-Moghbazar-Kakrail-Rajmoni-UBL Gulishtan; Farmgate- Sonargaon-Banglamotor-Moghbazar-Mouchak-Malibagh-Khilgaon and Firmgate- Sonargaon-Bangla Motor-Moghbazar-Kakrail Church-Rajmoni-Paltan-Motijheel.