The four owners of of 'MV Avijan-10' are Md Hamjalal Sheikh, Md Shamim Ahammed, Md Rasel Ahammed and Ferdous Hasan Rabbi—owners of M/S Al-Araf and Company.

The remaining are launch-in-charge Md Riaz Sikdar, in-charge driver Md Masum Billah, second master Md Kalilur Rahman and second driver Abul Kalam.

Earlier, Md. Shafiqur Rahman, chief inspector of the shipping department, filed the case at the naval court.

UNB adds: A writ petition was filed with the High Court seeking its directions on the authorities concerned to ensure payment of Tk 5 million for the deceased families and Tk 2 million for the injured in last week's launch fire.

Advocate Eunus Ali Akond, a supreme court lawyer, filed the writ petition to the office concerned of the HC on Sunday. The writ petition will be presented before the HC bench of justice M Enayetur Rahim and justice Md Mostafizur Rahman for hearing on Monday, said Eunus.

At the same time, the writ also sought HC's directions to form a commission for judicial inquiry to find out the reason behind early Friday's blaze at MV Abhijan-10 launch in Sungandha River off Jhalakathi town.

Owner of 'Abhijan-10' Hamjalal Sheikh, secretary of the shipping ministry and chairman of the Bangladesh Inland Water Transport Authority (BIWTA) have been made respondents in the petition.

Read more from Crime
Post Comment