Al Arafha Islami Bank deputy managing director Md Shafiqur Rahman and DRU general secretary Riaz Chowdhury addressed the function as special guests with DRU president Rafiqul Islam Azad in the chair.

Hasan said actions would be taken after registration activities of online news portals. It is the need of society and journalists as well, he added.

He said actions would be taken against those portals which are working on other issues instead of publishing news. “This is not the scenario of Bangladesh, but the picture of whole world. In the developed countries, it has been possible to establish discipline in this sector which has not been possible here fully. Sometimes, fake news are published,” he added.

He said now it is seen that someone opens an online portal and gives a journalist’s card to one. But, he is not real journalist, he added.

The information minister said the all journalists organizations including DRU could take a pivotal role to stop such incidents.

Some ‘fake journalist’ can bring disrepute to the entire journalist community, he said.

The writers who received awards are Morsalin Ahmed, Jakir Hossain, Mizan Rahman, M Mamun Hossain, Riaz Chowdhury, Sajeda Parvin Saju, Amin Al Rashid, Motahar Hossain, Pranab Majumder, Amirul Momenin Manik, Rakibul Islam Mukul, Abu Ali, Mizan Malik, Mustafizur Rahman Nahid, Md Shafiullha Suman, Tariqul Islam Masum, Abu Hena Imrul Kayes, Maidur Rahman Rubel, Masum Molla, Sayeed Abdul Malik, Dipan Nandi, Haque Faruque Ahmed, Salina Sheuly, Chapal Bashar, Ashish Kumar Dey, Jamshed Nazir, Shamsuzzaman Shams, Indrajit Sarker, Ahmed Mushfika Naznin and Habibullha Fahad.

The information minister handed over crests and honourium to the all writers.

Read more from Bangladesh
Post Comment