Among them, Fariaj, Shithil, Saiful, Pavel and Ali Miah were tried in absentia.

The lifers are Nurul Islam, Habibur Rahman, Russel, Maju Miah, Golap Miah, Sohel Miah, Shajahan and Borhan alias Ruhan. They were fined Tk 50,000 each, in default, to suffer one year more rigorous imprisonment.

According to the case statement, on 14 Nov 2016, Zohirul Haque, a businessman and Natai Dakkhin ward-5 AL general secretary, was returning home in Poyag from Paurtala bus stand in a CNG-run auto-rickshaw. The convicts including Basu Mia, Habibur Rahman, Shahibur Rahman alias Shukki, Kabir Mia, Sachchu Mia, Mokhlech Mia, Ruhan alias Borhan, Shithil Ahmed alias Fahim Ahmed, Rahmat Ullah Fariyaz attacked Zohirul Haque on the way and stabbed him mercilessly.

Locals caught two of them- Shithil and Fariyaz- and handed over to police. Zahirul Haque died in the evening while undergoing treatment at a hospital.

Kabir Hossain, younger brother of the deceased, filed a murder case at Brahmanbaria sadar police station in this regard. The investigation officer of the case submitted a charge sheet against 21 accused.