13 nominated for Independence Award

Prothom Alo English Desk | Update:

The government on Sunday announced the names of 12 personalities and one organisation for this year's Independence Award in recognition of their remarkable contributions to national level.

According to an official handout, the recipients of the country's highest state honour in Liberation War and Independence category are martyred intellectual Mufazzal Haider Chaudhury and martyr ATM Zafar Alam, liberation war affairs minister AKM Mozammel Haque and former housing and public works minister Mosharraf Hossain, Kazi Misbahun Nahar, late professor Abdul Khaleque, late professor Mohammad Khaled.

Brigadier general Nurunnahar Fatema Begum will receive the award in Medical Science, while Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad in Social Service, Murtaja Bashir in Culture, Hasan Azizul Haque in Literature, professor Hasina Khan in Research and Training.

The Bangladesh Atomic Research Institute will receive an award in Science and Technology category.

Prime minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the awards at a function at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre in the city on 25 March.

Since 1977, Bangladesh has honoured individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of Independence Day on 26 Mar.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: info@prothomalo.com