In the elections to Bhangura municipality of Pabna, the candidature of BNP’s Abdul Kader was cancelled in an appeal hearing. This cleared the way for ruling party’s candidate Golam Hasnain, also current mayor, to be elected uncontested.

Returning officer and Pirojpur district election official Khan Abi Sahanur Khan cancelled the nomination papers of BNP mayoral candidate in Pirojpur municipality Sheikh Shahidullah and independent candidate SM Saidul Islam. As a result, AL candidate Habibur Rahman is set to be elected uncontested for the third time in a row. He was elected uncontested in 2010 and 2015 as well.

District election office sources said 13 mayor aspirants collected nomination papers. The candidatures of BNP’s Sheikh Shahidullah and independent candidate SM Saidul Rahman, who is the organisational secretary to district BNP, were cancelled. Sheikh Shahidullah’s nomination paper was cancelled on allegation of hiding information while SM Saidul Rahman’s candidature was cancelled as there was inaccuracy in adding signs of supporting voters with the nomination paper.

Read more from Politics
Post Comment