Live end 16 Jan 2022

NCC polls

AL's Ivy takes lead

10: 25 , Jan 16

Voting ends at 4pm

Voting in Narayanganj City Corporation election ends at 4pm without any major incident. Two main candidates-- Awami League’s Selina Hayat Ivy and independent Taimur Alam Khandakar—have not made any complaint of any irregularities.

Besides Ivy and Taimur, five other candidates are also running for the post of the NCC mayoral post.

Balloting for the election started at 8:00am and continued for eight hours without any break.

Besides, 148 candidates are contesting for ward councillor posts while 38 women are contesting for reserved seats for women in the NCC polls.

This time the NCC elections have 517,361 voters, including 257,511 females. There are some 42,418 first-time voters.

11: 05 , Jan 16

Balloting continues in two centres

Voting continued till 4:30 pm at Shimrail Government Primary School polling centre
Nurul Amin

Voting continued till 4:30 pm at Shimrail Government Primary School polling centre as the voting did not end at the scheduled time of 4:00pm.

Voting at Kabi Nazrul Islam Government School of Narayanganj also continued after 4:00 pm.

11: 33 , Jan 16

Voting time ends, voters still wait in queues 

Although voting was scheduled to end at4:00pm, many voters were seen waiting in queues after the scheduled time.

Tanvir Ahammed

In at least 4 polling centres in Bandar area, voters were seen waiting in long queuesafter 4:00pm

13: 28 , Jan 16

AL's Ivy takes lead

Awami League candidate Selina Hayat Ivy is leading the race of Narayanganj City Coporation’s mayoral post.

Ivy got 14,664 votes in 20 centers while independent candidate Taimur Alam Khandakar bagged 9171 votes.

Selina Hayat Ivy
Prothom Alo

Returning officer Mahfuza Akter is announcing the results from Narayanganj deputy commission’s office.