England win toss, bowl against Australia

England's Chris Woakes (2/R) appeals for an LBW decision against Australia's Travis Head (2/L) during the third one-day international (ODI) cricket match between Australia and England at the MCG in Melbourne on 22 November, 2022AFP

England captain Jos Buttler won the toss and chose to bowl against Australia in the third and final one-day international at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Tuesday.

The hosts lead the series 2-0 after a six-wicket victory in Adelaide then a 72-run win at Sydney, with England playing for pride on their return to the venue where they won the Twenty20 World Cup this month.

Australia captain Pat Cummins returns after being rested for Sydney, with fellow pace bowler Mitchell Starc given the day off ahead of the Test series against the West Indies starting next week.

Sean Abbott plays in place of all-rounder Ashton Agar, who has joined the Prime Minister's XI squad for a red-ball match against the West Indies.

Buttler is back after also missing Sydney, with Moeen Ali rested and Olly Stone coming in for Adil Rashid.


Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins (capt), Adam Zampa and Josh Hazlewood.

England: Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Dawid Malan, James Vince, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (capt), Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, Liam Dawson, David Willey and Olly Stone

Umpires: Paul Wilson (AUS), Paul Reiffel (AUS)

TV umpire: Rod Tucker (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)