Mustafizur in ICC's T20 team of the year

Bangladesh left-arm pacer Mustafizur RahmanProthom Alo file photo

Bangladesh left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman found a place in the ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year 2021, ICC revealed on Wednesday, reports BSS.

The ICC Team of the Year recognised 11 outstanding individuals who have impressed one and all - be it with the bat, the ball or their all-round exploits in a calendar year in 2021.

Regarding the inclusion of Mustafizur, the ICC said, “The Bangladesh left-arm seamer again ruled the roost in T20I cricket in 2021 with his clever variations and change of pace. Lethal up front and at the death, he scalped 28 wickets in 20 matches at an average of 17.39. He also proved tough for the batters to get away as proven by his economy of 7.00."

Babar Azam, the Pakistan captain was made the captain of the T20 team of the year in which he found of two of his colleagues-Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

The other Asian player in this team is Wanindu Hasaranga. It means, there is no player in this team from India.

Like Pakistan, South Africa also have three players in this team— Tabriz Shamsi, David Miller and Aiden Markram. Along with Hazlewood, Australia also have Mitchel Marsh.

As the only Englishman, Jos Buttler found a place in ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year 2021.

No Indian and New Zealand player could make their way into the ICC T20 team of the year.

The ICC T20 team of the year:

Jos Buttler, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (captain), Aiden Markram, Mitchell Marsh, David Miller, Tabraiz Shamsi, Josh Hazlewood, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mustafizur Rahman and Saheen Shah Afridi.