Bangladesh chose to field, Mehidy replaces Shamim Hossain

Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan flips the coin for toss in the second T20 international at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka, on 12 March 2023
Prothom Alo

Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and invited England to bat first in the second T20 international, hoping to wrap up the series at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka, on Sunday.

Earlier, the Tigers won the first of three-match series in Chattogram by six wickets, thanks to a disciplined batting and bowling performance.

The way the Tigers outclassed the T20 powerhouse and the reigning global champions in the game is itself a huge booster to clinch the series, said young pacer Hasan Mahmud, who contributed in the win with a classical death over bowling.

Bangladesh have made a change in the team as Mehidy Hasan Mirza replaces Shamim Hossain. Visiting England also have made a change as debutant leg spinner Rehan Ahmed comes in for Mark Wood.


Bangladesh: Rony Talukdar, Liton Das (wk), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Towhid Hridoy, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman

England: Phil Salt, Dawid Malan, Jos Buttler (capt & wk), Ben Duckett, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Rehan Ahmed, Jofra Archer