10 named for Independence Award

Independence Award
Independence Award

The government has picked nine renowned personalities and one organisation for highest state award 'Swadhinata Padak-2020' (Independence Award) in recognition of their outstanding contributions to their respective fields, reports UNB.

The recipients are Golam Dastagir Gazi, MP, commander Abdur Rouf (posthumous), Md Anwar Pasha (posthumous) and Azizur Rahman (Independence and Liberation War); Md Obaidul Kabir Chowdhury and AKMA Muqtadir (Medical Science); Bharateswari Homes (education); SM Raij Uddin Ahmed (literature); and Kalipada Das and Ferdousi Mazumder (culture). 

Prime minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the awards to them at a function in the city on 25 March.

Since 1977, Bangladesh honours individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of the Independence Day.