Elections to 161 UPs, 9 municipalities 20 Sept

Election commission buildingFile photo

Elections to 161 Union Parishad (UPs) in Khulna, Bagerhat, Satkhira, Noakhali, Chattogram and Cox’s Bazar and nine municipalities, which were postponed due to the novel coronavirus pandemic, will be held on 20 September, reports BSS.

Election commission secretary Humayun Kabir Khandakar said this while talking to newspersons at the Nirbachan Bhaban media centre in city’s Agargaon area on Thursday.

“EC has decided to hold polls in 161 UPs and nine municipalities in the country on 20 September,” he said.

The nine municipal are -- Bhanga in Faridpur, Nangalkot in Cumilla, Chakaria and Maheshkhali in Cox’s Bazar, Sonagazi in Feni, Kabirhat in Noakhali, Nawapara in Jashore, Debiganj in Panchagarh and Boalkhali in Chattogram.