PM Hasina distributes National Film Award-2019

Prime minister Sheikh Hasina
File photo

Prime minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday handed over the National Film Award-2019, the highest recognition to the contribution of artistes in Bangladeshi films, to its recipients.

On behalf of the prime minister, information minister Hasan Mahmud handed over the certificate, replica and honorary cheque to the recipients of the film award in 26 categories.

The prime minister joined the award giving ceremony virtually from her official Gonobhaban residence in the capital.

The information ministry organised the function at the Bangabandhu International Conference Centre (BICC).

Earlier on 3 December last year, the names of the recipients of National Film Awards-2019 were announced in 26 categories.

Eminent film actor Masud Parvez (Sohel Rana) and actress Kohinur Akter Suchanda won the lifetime achievement award this year for their contributions to the film industry.

Tariq Anam Khan received the best actor for leading role in film ‘Abar Basanta’, while the best actress in leading role went to Sunerah Binte Kamal for film ‘No dorai’.

‘No dorai’ and ‘Fagun Haway’ movies jointly won the award in the best film category.

Taneem Rahman Angshu was adjudged the best director for his film ‘No dorai’.

The best actor in supporting role award went to Fazlur Rahman Babu for film ‘Fagun Haway’ while Nargis Akhter won the best supporting actress award for film ‘Maya: The Lost Mother’.

Zahid Hasan was awarded in the best villain category for film ‘Shap Ludu’.

Naimur Rahman Apan (film Kalo Megher Bhela) and Afrin Akhter (Jodi ak din) jointly won the award in the best juvenile artiste category.

Mustafizur Rahman Chowdhury Emon bagged the best music director’s award for the film ‘Maya: The Lost Mother’, while Habibur Rahman won the award in the best dance director category for film ‘Moner Matho Manush Pailam Na’.

The best singer award went to Mrinal Kanti Das (film Shuttle Train), while Mamtaz Begum and Fatima Tuz Zahra Oyshee were jointly adjudged the best female singer for their songs in film ‘Maya: The Lost Mother’.

Documentary ‘Ja Chilo Andokarea’ of Bangladesh Television was awarded in the best documentary category, while short film ‘Nari o Jibon’ was awarded in the best short film category.

The other award winners are: Nirmalendu Goon and Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury (jointly won in the best lyricist category), Plaban Quraishi and Syed Md Tanvir Tareq (best composers), Masud Patik (story writer), Mahbub Ur Rahman (screenwriter), Zakir Hossain Raju (dialogue writer), Junaed Ahmed Halim (editing), Mohammad Rahmat Ullah Basu and Md Farid Ahmed (best art instructor), Ripan Nath (acoustic), Suman Kumar Sarker (cameraman), Khandaker Razia Afrin (costume) and Md Raju (make-up).

Among the recipients, lifetime eminent award winner film actor Masud Parvez (Sohel Rana) expressed his feelings on the occasion.