England reached 77-3 in 10 overs losing three wickets chasing Pakistan's 137 in the final of the ICC T20 World Cup at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday. 

English batter Ben Stokes was not out on 17 off 16 while Harry Brook was on 14 off 16.  Jos Butler scored 26 off 17. Haris Rouf got two wickets in his first two overs for Pakistan conceding 10 runs. 

Earlier in the day, Pakistan ended with 137/8 as Shan Masood scored highest 38 while skipper Babar Azam made 32. 

Sam Curran returned with 3/12 bowling four overs while leg-spinner Adil Rashid ended with 2/22 for England. 

Rashid caught Pakistan captain Babar for 34 off his own bowling  to inflict a big blow in the 12th over before Ben Stokes removed Iftikhar Ahmed for a six-ball duck in the next over as Pakistan were reduced to 85-4.

Pakistan tried to up the tempo but lost few wickets against tight bowling and fielding of England and ended with a subpar total. England won the toss and decided to field first.


England: Jos Buttler (capt), Alex Hales, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Chris Woakes and Adil Rashid.

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf and Shaheen Afridi.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI) and Marais Erasmus (RSA).

TV umpire: Chris Gaffaney (NZL).

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI).