Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Thursday announced a 16-member squad for the forthcoming three-match One-Day International (ODI) series against India.

Twenty20 captain Shakib Al Hasan and batsman Yasir Ali returned to the ODI squad after missing out from the 50-over series against Zimbabwe.

“Shakib didn’t play in the last series. But he is available for this series. This is a positive thing that we are getting our best possible squad for a home series against a team like India,” said chief selector of the national team Minhajul Abedin.

Pacer Ebadot Hossain and opener Anamul Haque also retained their spots in the ODI squad.

All-rounder Mosaddek Hossain, pacer Shoriful Islam and spinner Taijul Islam were dropped.

Bangladesh pacer Shoriful Islam

“We are sending Shoriful to India with the ‘A’ team. Mosaddek will also play there. Mosaddek was picked because Yasir was injured. As Yasir has returned, we have decided to include him in the team,” the chief selector said.

“We are preparing Taijul for the Test series. Nasum has been regularly doing well with the white ball. Taijul has also done well whenever he got the opportunity. But after some discussions, we have decided to keep Nasum in the squad. Taijul will be his backup,’ he added.

The ODI series will begin on 4 December at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

The second ODI will take place at the same ground on 7 December. The final match of the ODI series will be played at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on 10 December.

Bangladesh squad: Tamim Iqbal (c), Liton Das, Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmudullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nurul Hasan