Mahmudullah to lead T20 squad against Lankans

Sports Correspondent | Update:

Mahmudullah RiyadMahmudullah Riyad has been named T20 captain for Bangladesh for the first game of the two-match series against Sri Lanka, starting 15 February.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) confirmed this on Tuesday evening, saying that Mahmudullah Riyad will lead the squad in absence of Shakib Al Hasan.

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is missing the first T20 match as he failed to fully recover from his finger injuries.

Selectors asked left-arm spinner Nazmul Hossain to join the squad as a replacement for Shakib in the first match.

Shakib had replaced pace bowler Mashrafe Mortaza as Bangladesh's T20 skipper in the series against South Africa in October.

Bangladesh Squad: Mahmudullah (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Haider, Abu Jayed, Ariful Hoque, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain and Nazmul Ismail.

Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: