Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) suffered a split as a group of its leaders on Monday announced a seven-member coordination committee dropping its president Oli Ahmad.

Party’s former joint secretary general Shahdat Hossain Selim came up with the announcement at a press conference at the National Press Club.

Ex-whip of parliament and LDP presidium member Abdul Karim Abbasi has been made president of the new committee while Selim its member secretary.

“Now it’s not possible to do politics with Oli Ahmad. That’s why we’ve formed a seven-member coordination committee led by Abdul Karim Abbasi. I’ve been made its member secretary,” said Selim.

He said the coordination committee will work out the next course of action through discussions with party leaders and activists.

On 9 October last, Oli Ahmed formed a 203-member new committee of LDP dropping Abbasi and Selim.

Aabbsi was the presidium member while Selim joint secretary general in the party’s previous committee.

On 26 October, 2006, Oli left Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) and formed LDP together with then Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh (BDB) president AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury.

However, B Chowdhury quit LDP within a year and revived his party BDB following a conflict with Oli.