By-polls in Cumilla-5, Dhaka-14 and Sylhet-3 were scheduled take place on 14 July but these have been rescheduled for 28 July. By-polls in Lakshipur-2 would be held on 21 June as per previous schedule.

Elections to 163 union parishads, which were due to take place on 21 June, have been suspended.

Among the union parishads, 68 are in Bagerhat, 34 in Khulna, 21 in Satkhira, 13 in Noakhali, 12 in Chattogram and 15 in Cox’s Bazar.

Elections to 204 other union parishads, however, would be held on 21 June as per the schedule.

Election commission secretary Humayun Kabir Khondokar made this announcement.

He did not reply a question of journalists as to who will take responsibility if Covid-19 infection increases in the areas where elections would be held.

Read more from Government
Post Comment