Two new divisions to be named Padma, Meghna

Bangladesh Government Logo
File photo

The government is going to form two new administrative divisions: one named after Padma and the other Meghna.

Of them, Padma division will be formed with five districts of greater Faridpur while Meghna will be a new division which will include Cumilla and surrounding districts. 

According to the cabinet division, a meeting of the National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reforms (NICAR) will be held on Sunday where the proposal of forming two new divisions will be placed. The prime minister will preside over the meeting.

Currently, there are eight divisions in the country. These are Dhaka, Chattogram, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barishal, Sylhet, Rangpur and Mymensingh.