Hamid is the only President who has been serving for two consecutive terms. His second and last tenure will expire on 24 April this year.

On 24 April, 2013, Abdul Hamid was sworn in as the 20th President of Bangladesh.

After the end of his first tenure, Hamid also took oath as the president on the same date in 2018 for the second term.

Lawmakers vote in the presidential election, which is supposed to be held in the House with the CEC acting as the election officer.