Parliament adopts condolence motion on Ismat Ara Sadique’s death


Jatiya Sangsad on Tuesday unanimously adopted a condolence motion expressing profound grief at the demise of ruling Awami League MP Ismat Ara Sadique, reports UNB.

Ismat Ara Sadique, an MP from Jashore-6 constituency, died at a city hospital in the morning. She was 78.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury moved the condolence motion in the House at the beginning of the day's business.

Taking part in the discussion on the condolence motion, prime minister Sheikh Hasina said after the death of her husband ASHK Sadique, she requested Ismat Ara to compete in the 9th general election.

“She was a little bit nervous at the thought whether she would be able to tackle the load of the election. I told her that you can do that. You can win the election. She won the election,” Sheikh Hasina said.

She first gave Ismat Ara Sadique the responsibility of looking after the primary and mass education ministry as state minister. “She told me that she never ran a big office like this. I told her that I’m with you, you need not be worried. You just tell me whenever you need anything. I’ve trust in you,” she said.

Sheikh Hasina, also the leader of the House, said Ismat Ara Sadique did every work properly and honestly and with sincerity. “Honesty, sincerity and integrity were her great qualities. These were just unique.”

The PM mentioned that in 2015, she gave her the charge of state minister for public administration and she was nervous again. “Again I told her that she can run the new office.”

The prime minister also mentioned that Ismat Ara Sadique used to work in an organised way. She had carried out huge works for the development of her constituency. She provided electricity to all the houses of Keshabpur from where she was elected MP twice, Sheikh Hasina said.

Tofail Ahmed, Abdus Shahid, state minister for rural development and cooperatives division Shwapan Bhattacharjee, Rawshan Ara Mannan, state minister for public administration Farhad Hossain, AKM Sarwar Jahan, Waseqa Ayesha Khan and Kazi Nabil Ahmed also took part in the discussion on the condolence motion.

A one-minute silence was also observed as a mark of respect to the sitting MP.

A munajat seeking eternal peace of the departed soul was offered in the House. Ruhul Amin Madani, AL MP from Mymensingh-7 constituency, conducted the munajat.

As per the parliamentary tradition, the day's business was adjourned in honour of late MP Ismat Ara Sadique.