Mohammad Shahabuddin elected 22nd president of Bangladesh

Awami League nominated president candidate Mohammad ShahabuddinSazid Hossain

Awami League candidate for the post of president, Mohammad Shahabuddin has been declared elected.

Chief election commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal and returning official of the presidential election announced this on Monday at noon.

CEC made the announcement after verifying the nomination forms for the presidential election today.

Kazi Habibul Awal said that only one candidate submitted the nomination paper for the post of president. Therefore, Shahbuddin was declared elected as per the section-7 of the Presidential Election Act. The announcement will be sent for notification today (Monday), he added.

Mohammad Shahabuddin was born in Pabna in 1949. He was a vibrant activist of Chhatra League and served as Pabna district unit president. He was also the convener of the Swadhin Bangla Chhatra Shangram Parishad of Pabna in 1971 and took part in the liberation war.  He also served as the president of Pabna district Jubo League in 1974.

In 1975, he was imprisoned after the killing of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. Later, he joined the civil service (judiciary) in 1982. He was elected the secretary general of the Judicial Service Association in 1995.

Shahabuddin retired as a district and sessions judge in 2006, after serving in various positions for 25 years. He was the law ministry appointed coordinator in the Bangabandhu killing case. He served the ACC as commissioner from 2011 to 2016.