Bangladesh sent to bat first in 1st Ireland ODI

Bangladesh ODI captain Tamim Iqbal and Ireland captain Andy Balbirnie pose with the ODI series trophyBCB

Bangladesh lost the toss and were asked to bat first against Ireland in the first One-Day International (ODI) of the three-match series at the County Ground in Chelmsford in England on Tuesday.

The Tigers had a lacklustre preparation in the buildup to the series, as their training sessions in England were mostly marred by rainy weather.

Also Read

It rained overnight in Chelmsford but the rain has stayed away on Tuesday morning to allow the match to start on time.

Ireland asked the visitors to bat first, hoping to cash in on the early morning moisture present on the pitch due to the previous night’s rain.

Also Read

Ireland’s IPL star pacer Josh Little will lead the Irish pace attack against Bangladesh.

Bangladesh have predictably opted for a three-pacer attack with Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud and Shoriful Islam. Pacer Mustafizur Rahman has not been picked for the day’s match.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal (c), Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Taijul Islam, Hasan Mahmud

Ireland: Paul Stirling, Stephen Doheny, Andrew Balbirnie (capt), Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Andrew McBrine, Mark Adair, Graham Hume, Josh Little