Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma File photo

Senior batsman Rohit Sharma has been left out of India's upcoming tour of Australia due to injury after the country's cricket board announced the Test and limited-overs squads on Monday.

Paceman Ishant Sharma also misses out of the highly-anticipated series that includes four Tests, three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 matches in the coming months.

"The BCCI Medical Team will continue to monitor the progress of Rohit Sharma and Ishant Sharma," the Board of Control for Cricket in India said in a statement.


Rohit, captain of Indian Premier League defending champions Mumbai Indians, injured his hamstring in a game on October 18 and missed his team's next two matches.

Ishant was ruled out of the T20 tournament after playing just one match for Delhi Capitals following a muscle tear during training session earlier this month.


Opening batsman KL Rahul has returned to the 18-member Test team after his prolific scoring in the IPL being held behind closed doors in the United Arab Emirates.

The Virat Kohli-led India are expected to assemble in the UAE before flying off to Australia to quarantine in the virus-hit year.


Test squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur

T20I squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravart