7 win IELTS scholarship awards for higher edu

Staff Correspondent . Dhaka | Update:

Winners of British Council`s `IELTS Scholarships 2018’ and representatives of IELTS registration centres in Dhaka at at an event on Wednesday -- Photo: CollectedThe British Council, Dhaka office, has distributed awards of scholarship among students undertaking IELTS test for pursuing higher education in Bangladesh and abroad.

Seven such winners were given the scholarships at the ‘IELTS Scholarships 2018’ award ceremony at the Council’s Dhaka University campus office on Wednesday, said a press release on Thursday,

A rigorous selection process comprising of written tests and face-to-face presentations and interview sessions was followed to select the winners from 300 applicants this year.

They all have taken IELTS from the British Council, it said. IELTS is the International English Language Testing System, arguably the most popular English language proficiency test for higher education and global migration.

For the first time, the British Council has made the scholarship scheme available to students wishing to pursue higher education in Bangladesh.

Accordingly, four scholarships worth Taka 150,000 each have been awarded to students who would be studying at home.

The British Council has offered three scholarships worth Taka 300,000 each to students willing to study abroad.

The event presented an overview of the current IELTS market landscape and explore how the British Council and its partners can collaboratively work together to establish IELTS in higher education in Bangladesh, said the press release.

Sebastian Pearce, director (examinations) at British Council, Dhaka office, said the IELTS test can positively contribute to higher education in Bangladesh.

Head of business development at the British Council, Sarwat Reza added IELTS can help at various stages of an individual’s academic life, and aid institutions across Bangladesh in terms of quality assessment of their future graduates.

International scholarship winners are Md. Ashfaque Uz Zaman Khan Dhrubo, Nowsha Farha and Nasib Al Hasib.

National scholarship winners are Nomrota Sarker, Atoshi Anindita, Asif Siddique Tarafdar and Rinita Islam.

Reader's Comment


Commenting is closed

Want to be annomymous
I am commenting by following the terms & condition of Prothom Alo
Editor & publisher: Matiur Rahman.
Pragati Insurance Bhaban, 20-21, Karwan Bazar, Dhaka - 1215
Phone: 8180078-81, Fax: 9130496, E-mail: info@prothomalo.com