BRTC bus.File photo

Bangladesh Road Transport Corporation (BRTC) has launched ‘Eid special service’ from Monday to ensure smooth and comfortable journeys for the homebound people ahead of Eid-ul-Azha, like the previous year.

The BRTC Eid special service will remain in force till 12 July, said a handout of BRTC on Monday.

The selling of advance ticket for BRTC buses began on 1 July from Motijheel, JoarShahara, Kalyanpur, Gabtoli, Mohammadpur, Mirpur, Jatrabari, Gazipur and Narayanganj bus depot (Chashara) and other routes.

The BRTC buses will provide services on Dhaka-Khulna, Daudkandi, Dinajpur, Rangpur and Netrokona route and tickets of the routes will be available from Motijheel Bus depot.

The passengers can avail their BRTC tickets from Kalyanpur depot for Rangpur, Panchagarh, Kurigram, Lalmonirhat, Gaibandha, Kushtia, Rajshahi, Naogaon, Netrakona, Ranisankail, Thakurgaon and Dinajpur route.

The tickets for the buses on Dhaka-Aricha, Rangpur, Dinajpur, Aricha and Paturia and Jashore routes will be available at Gabtoli Depot while tickets for Dhaka-Poyshar Haat, Bishwa Road-Panchdona, Rangpur, Naogaon, Joypurhat, Tangail, Mymensingh and Bogura routes can be purchased from Joarshahara Bus Depot.

People can purchase their desired tickets from Mirpur Bus Depot for the route of Dhaka-Barishal, Rangpur, Kushtia, Bogura, Kurigram, Dinajpur, Mymensingh and Naogaon route while tickets for the routes of Dhaka-Shariatpur, Faridpur, Rangpur, Dinajpur, Bogura and Naogaon routes will be available at Mohammadpur bus depot.

Meanwhile, tickets for the route of Bishwa Road-Pachdona, Tangail, Netrakona, Mymensingh, Rangpur, dinajpur, Thakurgaon and Kurigram route can be purchases from Gazipur bus depot while tickets for Dhaka-Rangpur, Shariatpur route will be available from Jatrabari Bus depot.

Tickets for the route of Dhaka-Gosairhat, Rangpur, Dinajpur, Thakurgaon, Panchagarh, Nilphamari, Naogaon, Bogura, Gaibanhda and Pabna will be available from Narayanganj bus depot and Dhaka-Rangpur tickets will be available at Cumilla bus depot while Narsingdi-Madaripur, Charmuguria and Rangpur routes will be available at Narsingdi bus depot.

Besides, 60 buses will remain standby at different depots or terminals for providing emergency services, it said.