Scotland win toss, bat against Ireland

Scotland’s Michael Leask (2nd R) celebrates with team mates after the dismissal of West Indies’ batsman Akeal Hosein during the Australia 2022 Twenty20 World Cup cricket tournament match between West Indies and Scotland at Bellerive Oval in Hobart on 17 October, 2022AFP

Scotland skipper Richie Berrington won the toss and elected to bat against Ireland in their second match of the Twenty20 World Cup at Hobart on Wednesday.

The Scots are looking to build on their stunning 42-run upset of two-time champions West Indies in Group B on Monday.

A win at Bellerive Oval would put them in pole position to seal a spot in the Super 12 with one match left and they named an unchanged side.

Ireland are in transition and enter the game on the back of a 31-run defeat to Zimbabwe and needing a victory to keep their hopes alive. They too are unchanged.


Scotland: George Munsey, Michael Jones, Matthew Cross, Richie Berrington (capt), Calum MacLeod, Chris Greaves, Michael Leask, Mark Watt, Josh Davey, Safyaan Sharif, Brad Wheal

Ireland: Andrew Balbirnie (capt), Paul Stirling, Lorcan Tucker, Harry Tector, George Dockrell, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Simi Singh, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little

Umpires: Chris Brown (NZL), Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

TV Umpire: Paul Wilson (AUS)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (ENG)