Australia win toss, bat against West Indies

Marnus Labuschagne of Australia plays a shot during the first day of the first Test cricket match between Australia and the West Indies at Perth Stadium on 30 November, 2022AFP

Australia captain Pat Cummins won the toss and chose to bat against the West Indies in the first Test at Perth Stadium on Wednesday.

Australia, who haven't played a Test since touring Sri Lanka in July, left out pace bowler Scott Boland and opener Marcus Harris from the 13, as expected, on what is should be a fast, bouncy surface.

Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood will lead the attack, supplemented by the spin of Nathan Lyon.

There were no changes to the top seven from Australia's last Test with David Warner and Usman Khawaja to open the batting.

"Looks like a good wicket, could be a bit in it," said Cummins.

The West Indies, who are without a win on Australian soil for 25 years, suffered a blow before the match with allrounder Raymon Reifer ruled out of the two-Test series with a groin injury.

Tagenarine Chanderpaul, the son of retired batting great Shivnarine, scored a century in a warm-up game last week and was rewarded with a debut and will open the batting with captain Kraigg Brathwaite.

Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales and the experienced Jason Holder spearhead a dynamic pace attack.


Australia: Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (capt), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kyle Mayers, Jason Holder, Joshua Da Silva, Roston Chase, Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG), Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Match referee: Sam Nogajski (AUS)