Pradeep Kumar Das and Liaqat Ali

A Cox’s Bazar court on Monday sentenced Teknaf's suspended OC Pradeep Kumar Das and inspector Liaqat Ali to death in Major (retd) Sinha Mohammad Rashed Khan murder case.

The court also sentenced six others to life in prison in the case. They are sub-inspector Nandolal Rakkhit and constable Rubel Sharma, constable Sagar Deb, and Md Nurul Amin, Mohamamd Iyaz and Md Nizam Uddin of Marishbunia village of Baharchhara union of Cox’s Bazar’s Teknaf upazila.

Seven accused were acquitted in the case.

District and sessions judge Mohammad Ismail handed down the verdict on Monday.

Major Sinha was shot dead by inspector Liaqat Ali of Baharchhara police station at Shamlapur check post on Cox's Bazar-Teknaf Marine Drive road at 9.30pm on 31 July 2020. Police arrested Shahedul Islam Sifat who was accompanying him.

Also Read

Ex-army officer killed in police firing, probe body formed

Police then conducted a raid in Nilima resort where Sinha had been staying and arrested two members of his video team, Shipra Debnath and Tahsin Rifat Nur. Though Tahsin was later released, police arrested Shipra and Sifat and sent them to jail. The two were later released on bail.

Four cases over Sinha murder

Four cases were filed over the killing of Major Sinha.

Of the four cases, police filed three cases, two with Teknaf police station and one with Ramu police station. Two cases were filed over narcotics and another for attacking police.

Also Read

Sinha was shot within two minutes of his car halting

On 5 August 2020, Sharmin Sahariya Ferdous, sister of Sinha, file a murder case at the court. Nine policemen including then-Teknaf OC Pradeep Kumar Das and inspector (investigation) Liaqat Ali were made accused in the case.

Rapid Action Battalion (RAB) was tasked with investigating the killing. RAB arrested 14 people including Pradeep Kumar Das and Liaqat Ali. Eleven of the arrestees were policemen and three others were villagers.

Also Read

Who fired two more shots at Sinha?

RAB investigation found the allegation brought in the three police case untrue and submitted the final report.

On 13 December last year, RAB submitted a charge sheet against 15 people, including Pradeep Kumar Das in the case.

Of them, 12 gave confessional statements before the court except ex-OC Pradeep Kumar Das and constable Sagar Deb and Rubel Sharma.

Also Read

Liaqat opened fire saying 'shoot, shoot'

On 27 June 2021, a Cox’s Bazar court framed charges against them.

The court recorded deposition of 65 out of 83 witnesses. On 12 January this year, the court set 31 January to deliver its verdict in the case after closing the arguments.

Also Read

There should be exemplary punishment in Sinha murder: Army chief

Also Read

Retired army men demand a stop to ‘crossfire’

Also Read

Killing in gunfights, a new Frankenstein

Also Read

Reform is necessary, every man has right to legal protection: Sinha’s sister

Also Read

Sinha Rashed’s death an isolated incident, say army chief and IGP