EC fines AL’s Bahauddin, Shambhu for breaching code of conduct

Election commission building
File photo

The Election Commission (EC) has fined two Awami League candidates and current lawmakers for breaching electoral code of conduct.

Cumilla-6 constituency’s ruling party candidate AKM Bahauddin was penalised Tk 100,000 and Barguna-1 seat’s Dhirendra Debnath (Shambhu) Tk 50,000 today. The two MPs were fined after they were summoned to the EC today.

Chief election commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal, election commissioners Mohammad Alamgir and Md Anisur Rahman heard the duo at Nirbachan Bhaban. The EC later took the decision to penalize the ruling party candidates.

After the hearing, EC’s additional secretary Ashok Kumar Debnath told the newsmen that the two candidates have been asked to submit the money they have been penalised within three days.

According to the Representation of the People Order (RPO), the EC can slap fine of Tk 20,000 to Tk 100,000 to a candidate or party or revoke candidacy for breaching code of conduct.